Pastoral Support

There are two Pastoral Leaders and a Student Progress Leader for year 11 at Bournville School.  Their role is to ensure that the School’s values and standards are promoted and maintained throughout every aspect of the school day. They monitor the progress of each student in their year group and work closely with families to support students throughout their school life.

Mr Barton (Associate Senior Leader), overviews the work of the pastoral team in Years 7-11 and holds overall responsibility for excellent standards of behaviour across the school.

Miss Trilloe (Student Progress Leader for Year 11) and Mr Deakin (Assistant Headteacher), carry overall responsibility for standards of achievement in Year 11. Mr Newman, Acting Assistant Headteacher leads Year 13, our last post 16 cohort.

The Pastoral Leaders and the Student Progress Leader for Year 11 lead a team of tutors who meet with their tutor groups every Thursday morning. During this time, tutors are able to spend time with individuals and groups of students to monitor their academic progress and well-being.  

The main work of the Pastoral Leaders and the Student Progress Leader for Year 11, with the support of tutors and our excellent Student Support Officers, is to monitor the academic progress and pastoral well-being of each student. Through this support team, students will be guided appropriately through the key stages of their time with us – for example, transition from Primary School, choosing GCSE Options, advice on work experience placements and post-16 possibilities.

The Pastoral Leaders, the Student Progress Leader for Year 11 and Student Support Officers are:

Year

Position

Name

Email

7 & 8

Pastoral Leader

Mr D Thomas

thomas.d2@bournville.bham.sch.uk

Student Support Officer

Ms M Spence

spence.m@bournville.bham.sch.uk

9 & 10

Pastoral Leader

Mr P Lowe

lowe.p@bournville.bham.sch.uk

Student Support Officer

Mr D Lewis

lewis.d@bournville.bham.sch.uk

11

Student Progress Leader

Ms B Trilloe

trilloe.b@bournville.bham.sch.uk

Student Support Officer

Miss K Freezer

freezer.k@bournville.bham.sch.uk

13

Acting Assistant Head

Mr M Newman

newman.m@bournville.bham.sch.uk

 

Mr S Washbrook

washbrook.s@bournville.bham.sch.uk